f



Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change

Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change

https://gist.github.com/david-mark/66464f73a0b376bc9f179406c8a81d88#file-senchatouch24-mitchell-simoens-david-mark-md
0
David
12/18/2016 12:46:37 PM
comp.lang.javascript 38370 articles. 0 followers. javascript4 (1315) is leader. Post Follow

6 Replies
27 Views

Similar Articles

[PageSpeed] 9

On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 6:46:41 AM UTC-6, David Mark wrote:
> Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change
>=20
> https://gist.github.com/david-mark/66464f73a0b376bc9f179406c8a81d88#file-=
senchatouch24-mitchell-simoens-david-mark-md

While some of us appreciate the reviews and criticism, I can't help but won=
der: why not spend these hundreds of hours instead on something better (lik=
e jessie)? Otherwise you're always going to be seen as simply an iconoclast=
 by the pop-culture framework community.=20

(Trying to post to GG from a phone. Let's see how this goes...)
0
Michael
12/18/2016 9:15:09 PM
On 18/12/2016 11:46 PM, David Mark wrote:
> Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change
>
> https://gist.github.com/david-mark/66464f73a0b376bc9f179406c8a81d88#file-senchatouch24-mitchell-simoens-david-mark-md

Reading the linked article was like getting an early Christmas present.

Andrew Poulos

0
Andrew
12/18/2016 9:28:35 PM
On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 4:15:14 PM UTC-5, Michael Haufe (TNO) wrote=
:
> On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 6:46:41 AM UTC-6, David Mark wrote:
> > Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change
> >=20
> > https://gist.github.com/david-mark/66464f73a0b376bc9f179406c8a81d88#fil=
e-senchatouch24-mitchell-simoens-david-mark-md
>=20
> While some of us appreciate the reviews and criticism, I can't help but w=
onder: why not spend these hundreds of hours instead on something better (l=
ike jessie)? Otherwise you're always going to be seen as simply an iconocla=
st by the pop-culture framework community.=20
>=20
> (Trying to post to GG from a phone. Let's see how this goes...)

Hundreds of hours? :)

I think I spent two hours on that one and that's the most I've spent on suc=
h an article in years.

As for Jessie, am indeed working on getting rid of its builder and moving t=
o CommonJS. Only so many hours in the day. I'd encourage others to contribu=
te to Jessie.
0
David
12/19/2016 4:14:42 AM
On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 4:28:47 PM UTC-5, Andrew Poulos wrote:
> On 18/12/2016 11:46 PM, David Mark wrote:
> > Sencha Touch 2.4 Code Review - Some Things Never Change
> >
> > https://gist.github.com/david-mark/66464f73a0b376bc9f179406c8a81d88#file-senchatouch24-mitchell-simoens-david-mark-md
> 
> Reading the linked article was like getting an early Christmas present.
> 
> Andrew Poulos

Glad you liked it. It's a big lump of coal in Sencha's stocking as well. Couldn't happen to a nicer bunch. :)
0
David
12/19/2016 4:15:35 AM
On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 10:14:54 PM UTC-6, David Mark wrote:

> Hundreds of hours? :)
> 
> I think I spent two hours on that one and that's the most I've spent on such an article in years.

I was referring to your efforts in general against these frameworks over the past 10+ years, not just your recent re-engagements

> As for Jessie, am indeed working on getting rid of its builder and moving to CommonJS. Only so many hours in the day. I'd encourage others to contribute to Jessie.

Going Babel as well?
0
Michael
12/19/2016 4:42:38 AM
On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 11:42:42 PM UTC-5, Michael Haufe (TNO) wrote:
> On Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 10:14:54 PM UTC-6, David Mark wrote:
> 
> > Hundreds of hours? :)
> > 
> > I think I spent two hours on that one and that's the most I've spent on such an article in years.
> 
> I was referring to your efforts in general against these frameworks over the past 10+ years, not just your recent re-engagements

As for that, not too worried about how I am seen, other than by customers. Last 10+ years have been very good to me. :)

> 
> > As for Jessie, am indeed working on getting rid of its builder and moving to CommonJS. Only so many hours in the day. I'd encourage others to contribute to Jessie.
> 
> Going Babel as well?

Yes, though still not all that excited about ES6.
0
David
12/19/2016 4:44:13 AM
Reply: