Could not connect via A-Record (code 11001)

  • Follow


We are having problems sending to several different sources, most are
on msn, pacbell, or verizon.  Our other emails go through just fine. 
I looked up the information in the log on our webshield server, and
this is what I found.  Can anyone shed some light on what this means? 
I changed the user names, but everything else is an exact copy/paste
from the log. Thanks in advance, for any help.


Tue Feb 10 17:01:06 2004  Successfully connected via DNS lookup to
mail host

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Transport for msg to <user.name@VERIZON.NET>
(D:\WebshieldE50\Out\1076461224363) follows:

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Attempting to route to the mails domain via
a Relay

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Relaying attempt unsuccessful

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Attempting to route to the mails domain via
DNS

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  MX lookup: Host relay.VERIZON.NET found by
name

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  MX lookup: Attempting connection to host
relay.VERIZON.NET

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Connection to mail host via DNS successful,
but mail host has signaled that it is not available. Aborting
connection

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Connection via DNS unsuccessful

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Attempting an A-Record connect

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  Could not connect via A-Record (code 11001)

Tue Feb 10 17:01:10 2004  MAIL DEFERRED:
	Reason: Mail Server is down or unreachable.
	Sender: <user@AMSMAINLINE.COM>
	Recipient list: <user.name@VERIZON.NET>
	MessageID: 1076461224363
0
Reply untechtech 2/16/2004 5:37:59 PM

Connecting to the A record is a last ditch effort.  No SMTP server is
required to be on the A record.  As an example, primeinc.com's A
record has no mail server on it.  Yet we have thousands of spammers
attempting to send to it daily.

Most likely, your MX lookup routines are failing.  You should by going
through the MX list per the RFCs.  From your post, it doesn't appear
this is happening.
0
Reply edavid3001 2/17/2004 2:11:51 AM



untechtech wrote:
> 
> We are having problems sending to several different sources, most are
> on msn, pacbell, or verizon.  Our other emails go through just fine.
> I looked up the information in the log on our webshield server, and
> this is what I found.  Can anyone shed some light on what this means?

The MX lookups succeed, but relay.VERIZON.NET doesn't want to talk to you.
As for 206.46.189.10, that host probably doesn't run a mail server at all.
For more details, please see RFC 2821.

Thor

-- 
http://thorweb.anta.net/
0
Reply Thor 2/17/2004 3:22:29 AM


Edwin Davidson wrote:

> Most likely, your MX lookup routines are failing.  You should by going
> through the MX list per the RFCs.  From your post, it doesn't appear
> this is happening.

It is.

VERIZON.NET.            86400   IN      MX      0 relay.VERIZON.NET.

Maybe they don't want mail from IP addresses that, based on their reverse
results, appear to be dynamic.

Thor

-- 
http://thorweb.anta.net/
0
Reply Thor 2/17/2004 3:26:29 AM

Thanks for the responses.  I'll let you know if any of this helps.
0
Reply untechtech 2/17/2004 3:01:48 PM

On 16 Feb 2004 09:37:59 -0800, untechtech <untechtech@yahoo.com> wrote:
> We are having problems sending to several different sources, most are
> on msn, pacbell, or verizon.  Our other emails go through just fine. 
> I looked up the information in the log on our webshield server, and
> this is what I found.  Can anyone shed some light on what this means? 
> I changed the user names, but everything else is an exact copy/paste
> from the log. Thanks in advance, for any help.

Even though you appear to have a static block of swbell IPs, some
misguided lists contain any IP ranges they speculate might be dynamic,
without confirmation from the ISP.  The IP you posted from does not seem
to be on any dsbl.org lists and your MX server (..66) was cleared of
wrongdoing in July 2002.  So there would not appear to be any valid reason
to block your IPs at this time.

I don't know if you could try relaying problem mail through one of swbells 
outgoing relays, although, at some point in time (if not already) even 
their legacy relays will require SMTP AUTH (which I have done with 
sendmail and postfix through smtp.*.yahoo.com for SBC Yahoo users).

-- 
David Efflandt - All spam ignored  http://www.de-srv.com/
0
Reply efflandt 2/18/2004 1:46:03 AM

If true, then this is amusing.  Verizon blocking SWBell for spam. 
Much of the UBE/UCE I block comes from Dynamic Verizon and SWBell
ranges.

Posting your SMTP servers IP address would be benefitial - unless you
are using the same IP to post these articles with., in which see
above.

> Even though you appear to have a static block of swbell IPs, some
> misguided lists contain any IP ranges they speculate might be dynamic,
> without confirmation from the ISP.  The IP you posted from does not seem
> to be on any dsbl.org lists and your MX server (..66) was cleared of
> wrongdoing in July 2002.  So there would not appear to be any valid reason
> to block your IPs at this time.
0
Reply edavid3001 2/18/2004 3:05:10 PM

6 Replies
326 Views

(page loaded in 0.1 seconds)

Similiar Articles:













7/26/2012 1:42:36 PM


Reply: