Netblock Resource.

  • Follow


Anyone has a detailed listing for any or all of the following Netblocks?

Verizon DSL
Attib cable
AOL dial up 
AOL broadband
SBC/Yahoo DSL
Cox Cable


I am aware of http://blackholes.us/  but I am not sure if they list all
the IPs or just IPs of netblocks that should never have an email server
on.

For example I see that they have all verio on that list, which is unfair
since lots of businesses that I am aware of are hosted with Verio.

Thank you.

0
Reply Todd 9/3/2003 12:13:54 AM

--=.)W'ekLHF)7A?Vw
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

On Wed, 03 Sep 2003 00:13:54 GMT
Todd <user@localhost.localdomain> wrote:

> AOL broadband

Unless you use Windows and sign on with AOL's program, only DNS will
work ('ping google.com' will resolve, but pings will timeout). Also,
when AOL is running, it seems to disable Internet Connection Sharing
(WinXP).

Other than that, I have only used Road Runner. Although they use a
blocklist to bounce all email originating from their customer (home
user) IP range, everything else works. It gives you IP connectivity.
It's a beautiful thing.
-- 
-johann koenig
Now Playing: Rancid - 1998 : Punk-O-Rama (Vol. 4)
Today is Setting Orange, the 26th day of Bureaucracy in the YOLD 3169
My public pgp key: http://mental-graffiti.com/pgp/johannkoenig.pgp

--=.)W'ekLHF)7A?Vw
Content-Type: application/pgp-signature

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.3 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQE/VVkoFk4duwOzQpURAh0jAJsEG3oiAieEJTcDsE7kjwoaMXNlWQCePKmH
zF8pJ6iUtWt004gyIXUmrxI=
=7Y3A
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

--=.)W'ekLHF)7A?Vw--
0
Reply Johann 9/3/2003 2:54:18 AM


On Wed, 03 Sep 2003 02:54:18 GMT, Johann Koenig <explosive@att.net>
wrote:

>On Wed, 03 Sep 2003 00:13:54 GMT
>Todd <user@localhost.localdomain> wrote:
>
>> AOL broadband
>
>Unless you use Windows and sign on with AOL's program, only DNS will
>work ('ping google.com' will resolve, but pings will timeout). Also,
>when AOL is running, it seems to disable Internet Connection Sharing
>(WinXP).
>
>Other than that, I have only used Road Runner. Although they use a
>blocklist to bounce all email originating from their customer (home
>user) IP range, everything else works. It gives you IP connectivity.
>It's a beautiful thing.


I don't think that you understood my post.

I wanted a resource of those IP address ranges so that I can filter
emails generated from those blocks, since spammers either install their
own SMTP servers for spamming or use an open proxy.

0
Reply Todd 9/3/2003 8:32:29 PM

Todd <user@localhost.localdomain> wrote in message news:<7bcalvo0ree5dmb2eu4kte8fo7qvn3h3mj@4ax.com>...
> Anyone has a detailed listing for any or all of the following Netblocks?
> 
> Verizon DSL
> Attib cable
> AOL dial up 
> AOL broadband
> SBC/Yahoo DSL
> Cox Cable
> 
> 
> I am aware of http://blackholes.us/  but I am not sure if they list all
> the IPs or just IPs of netblocks that should never have an email server
> on.

Blackholes.us lists _all_ known addresses.

> For example I see that they have all verio on that list, which is unfair
> since lots of businesses that I am aware of are hosted with Verio.

I'll leave the discussion of what is "fair" for others who wish to
debate it, especially when that discussion involves Verio.

- Matthew
0
Reply matthew 9/3/2003 10:10:46 PM

"Todd" <user@localhost.localdomain> wrote in message
news:7bcalvo0ree5dmb2eu4kte8fo7qvn3h3mj@4ax.com...
> Anyone has a detailed listing for any or all of the following Netblocks?
>
> Verizon DSL
> Attib cable
> AOL dial up
> AOL broadband
> SBC/Yahoo DSL
> Cox Cable
>
>
> I am aware of http://blackholes.us/  but I am not sure if they list all
> the IPs or just IPs of netblocks that should never have an email server
> on.
>
> For example I see that they have all verio on that list, which is unfair
> since lots of businesses that I am aware of are hosted with Verio.
>
> Thank you.
>

Cox doesn't have a netblock, or one that actually work.  Most of the mail I
get is sp@am which is addressed to lots of cox users and repeated several
times every week, sometimes several times a day!  I have forwarded messages
to the postmaster requesting that they block them.  If cox is pretending to
have any blocks there, it's about time they updated the list and added more.

Why is it unfair to block a host that has lots of business sites if those
sites do sp@mming?  If the sites that don't sp@m have a problem with it,
they should move to a decent host and demand (even do a class action suite
for) a refund.  I happen to have a business site on a host that does not
allow any site to send emails except by logging into their webmail and
entering it by hand.  And I prefer that to a host like Verio, even when I
have to process emails locally (not on the site) and sent replys without
going through the domain name.



0
Reply John 9/5/2003 1:48:49 AM

4 Replies
156 Views

(page loaded in 0.231 seconds)

Similiar Articles:






7/23/2012 7:56:56 PM


Reply: